Education and Opportunity for Rural Students and Communities

The Rural Alliance Affiliate Schools


The Rural Alliance for College Success first convened in July 2010 in Spokane. The motivation for bringing small, isolated rural districts together was to make sure geography did not determine our students' postsecondary opportunities. Realizing that many entities are focused on giving all children a good future, the 35 founding districts invited community colleges, universities, and a diversity of nonprofit organizations to combine efforts with us. Together we defined priorities and designed solutions to the obstacles rural students face in accessing equitable college and career access. The projects we initiated include strengthening academic readiness in the core curriculum, increasing 21st century skills through social and emotional learning, and deepening engagement through personalized learning and improved guidance. Together, we built a sense of collegiality that has drawn new members into the Rural Alliance. Today we represent 79 districts, 46,000 students, 14 colleges and universities, and nonprofits engaged in a continuum of services from early birth to adulthood.

College and University Partners

Big Bend Community College, Central Washington University, Columbia Basin College, Eastern Washington University, Spokane Community College, Spokane Falls Community College, University of Washington, Walla Walla Community College, Washington State University Pullman, Washington State University Spokane, Washington State University Tri-Cities, Wenatchee Valley College, Whitworth University, Yakima Valley Community College. 

P+Districts involved with The Rural Alliance 

Asotin-Anatone, Brewster, Bridgeport, Chewelah, Cle Elum-Roslyn, Colfax, Columbia Stevens, Creston, Curlew, Cusick, Davenport, Dayton, Entiat, Evergreen, Finley, Freeman, Garfield, Grand Coulee Dam, Granger, Harrington, Highland, Inchelium, Kettle Falls, Kiona-Benton, Lacrosse, Lake Chelan, Liberty, Lind, Loon Lake, Mabton, Mansfield, Manson, Mary Walker, Medical Lake, Methow Valley, Newport, Northport, Oakesdale, Odessa, Omak, Orondo, Oroville, Palisades, Palouse, Pateros, Paterson, Pe Ell, Pomeroy, Reardan-Edwall, Republic, Ritzville, Riverside, Royal, Selkirk, Soap Lake, St John, St Regis (MT), Summit Valley, Tekoa, Thorp, Toledo, Tonasket, Toppenish Touchet, Valley, Wahluke, Waitsburg, Warden, Washtucna, Waterville, Wellpinit, Whitepine (ID), Wilbur, Green Dot, Summit Sierra, Johnson Christian School, Woodland Park School, and Pride Prep School.